Economic Development

About the EDC

The Van Alstyne Economic Development Corporation was founded in 1996 as a Non-Profit Corporation, Chartered by the State of Texas.┬áIt is a “4A” Corporation under the Development Corporation Act of 1979, which gives cities the ability to use sales tax revenue to fund new and expanded business enterprises in their local communities through EDCs.

In September of 2020, the 4A (EDC) and 4B (CDC) corporations’ websites were combined into this one — The 4A (EDC) and 4B (CDC) corporations are still separate entities. However, to make it one-stop shopping for business owners wanting to come to Van Alstyne we have brought them both under one banner – Van Alstyne Community & Economic Development.

The VAEDC board consists of five members residing within the Van Alstyne City Limits, Van Alstyne ETJ and/or Van Alstyne ISD who volunteer to serve. Board members are appointed by the Van Alstyne City Council. Our agendas page has more information about when and where the board meets.

The VAEDC was responsible for the land procurement and development of the Cold Springs Industrial Park complete with rail spur. In addition, the VAEDC has been instrumental in attracting new businesses with the development of industrial space within the city.