Form of Government:

The City of Van Alstyne adheres to the Council-Manager form of government. 

The City Manager, appointed by the City Council, oversees the City’s day-to-day operations as chief executive officer of all City departments and nearly 60 employees. The City has it’s own Fire Department and EMS, Police Department, and Public Library. 

The City Council consists of the Mayor and five Council Members, all elected at large. Each Council Member serves a two-year term.

City Hall is located in downtown Van Alstyne at 152 N. Main Dr. Van Alstyne, TX 75495, and may be reached by phone at 903-482-5426, Monday – Friday, 8:30 am – 5:00 pm.

For more information about the City of Van Alstyne:


For a complete calendar of events, including meetings of City Council, boards and family events and festivals please see the City of Van Alstyne Calendar.

Van Alstyne’s Code of Ordinances:

is located online. Please visit the City of Van Alstyne website.

More about the City of Van Alstyne: